Summer Tomatoes: A Love Story

Possibly one of my favorite things about summertime is tomatoes. Over the last few years I have tried to stick to local & organic for most of our produce. This also means mostly seasonal eating. Now, I’m not perfect. I do by a few here & there through the colder months, but they always disappoint. And every time I realize the benefit of waiting. The reward is SOOOOOOOOO worth it.

I buy them mostly at the farmers market and sometimes at Trader Joe’s. But for some reason nothing comes close to the ones picked yourself, straight from the vine. Unfortunately we live in an apartment, without even the benefit of a balcony to try our hands at urban gardening.
Thank God for my Dad & The Compound. That’s my affectionate term forthe large property that was my grandparents & is now where my Dad & his lovely wife reside. They have the most amazing garden & HUGE amounts of tomato plants.
When I was there this week I took the liberty of shopping. Unfortunately I was too enamored by the peppers, chilis, herbs, tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, etc, to think about taking pictures.
The first thing I did when I got these babies home was make a tomato sandwich. My ultimate taste of summer.
Here’s what I did.
Lightly toasted wheat bread. Thin layer of mayo. Thick slices of tomato (thing of beauty!). Kosher sea salt. Fresh ground pepper.
Cheese (gouda & swiss because that’s what I had). Arugula drizzled with olive oil & a little more s&p.
DELICIOUSNESS!!!!
So here’s the deal. You can leave the cheese off, change the bread, toast or not toast, lettuce instead of arugula, whatever you want.
There is only one rule that I must insist on. You HAVE to use the tomatoes room temp. I know, I know. They go bad too quick out of the fridge. Since I have so many from The Compound I have mine in the fridge too. But you need to take one out in the morning to get it to room temp before using it. The taste doesn’t even compare. The cold dulls the flavor. Promise me you’ll do this? thanks. you rock.
I got a bunch of other stuff too. I’m hoping to make Pico with some of these beauties & the jalapenos I picked up. And some Refrigerator Pickles with the mutant cukes (stay tuned).
2 thoughts on “Summer Tomatoes: A Love Story

  1. LoFisch says:

    Looks amazing lady face!!! Nom nom nom!!! Guess what!? Our lil tomato finally turned red!!! Aren't you proud!? How do I know whne he's perfect for picking!? Thx! Xoxo!

  2. Earth Mama says:

    If he's red, he's probably ready. Just one?

Leave a Reply

